Lounge Network - Knowledge Base

  View Printer Friendly Version Search
KNOWLEDGE BASE HOME » 03. ACCOUNTS AND BILLING Ľ Viewing Answer
I have let my domain expire, why am I still being charged for web hosting?
Domain Name Registration and Web site hosting are two separate and isolated services that we provide. Therefore if you let you domain name expire, your web hosting account will remain active and you will continue to be billed for it, until you contact us to cancel your web hosting account.

Some reasons why we donít automatically cancel hosting accounts when the domain expires are:
- Many hosting accounts use multiple domain names.
- Hosting accounts can also be used without a domain name, using the servers domain name.
- Sometimes clients forget to renew their domain, or leave it to the last minute, and need to renew it after it has expired (after they have discovered their website isn't working without their domain).
- There is also no way for us to know what domains have expired and when, as domain email expiration notices are automatically sent only to the client, and many clients also register their domains with other domain providers.
Therefore hosting accounts cannot be automatically cancelled when a domain name expires otherwise it will permanently delete all the data in including email from the server, without the clients permission to delete this data.

Hosting clients who don't require their web hosting account anymore, are therefore required to fill in the following form, http://www.web.loungenetwork.co.nz/hostingcancellation.php
Filling in this form is also a condition of our terms of service when canceling an account.

After you have filled in the cancellation form, please make sure that you cancel any automatic payments that you may have setup with your bank. Automatic payments must be cancelled by the client.

KNOWLEDGE BASE HOME » 03. ACCOUNTS AND BILLING Ľ Viewing Answer




Knowledgebase Manager

© Copyright Lounge Network 2001-2017